2019 Photo Contest Categories

Showcasing the wildlands, wildlife, and waters that make Oregon a special place.

The submission deadline is September 6, 2019. Start the submission process here.


Photos must be of federal public lands in Oregon. This includes National Forest and BLM lands (including designated Wilderness and National Scenic areas), National Parks, National Wildlife Refuges, National Grasslands, and National Monuments.  Images featuring recreation are acceptable and encouraged.  Photos from state and local public lands, or private lands, are not eligible.


Photos must be of native Oregon species in their natural habitat. This category includes fish.


Photos must be of pristine, undeveloped waterways in Oregon. This includes rivers, lakes, streams, waterfalls and wetlands. Images featuring recreation are acceptable and encouraged. 

Endangered Places

Ancient. Photos should be of the diverse ancient forests across Oregon - as highlighted in Chandra LeGue's new book, Hiking Oregon's Ancient Forests. Help us celebrate our remaining ancient forests and protect them for future generations to come by entering the Endangered Places category.

See below for more resources on exploring areas for this category:

Other resources and information:

Photo by Chandra LeGue

Devil's Staircase photo by Chandra LeGue.